Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cloud hosting or shared hosting using CMS for a beginner?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cloud hosting or shared hosting using CMS for a beginner?

Hey all,

I'm a beginner looking to find a webhost for a CMS, at the moment its probably going to be wordpress. As i'm a beginner with a website idea I hope will grow, i'm looking to learn a CMS and create a website as I go along, so I was wondering which type of host, cloud or shared you would recommend for a CMS?

From going through many sites, it seems that cpanel is easier to use if you know it already, which is based on shared hosting. However if i've never used cpanel before would this make any difference? I understand what the differences are between cloud and shared, but want to know which would be best for my situation?

Thanks

Originally posted by flyinjam View Post
    I'm a beginner looking to find a webhost for a CMS, at the moment its probably going to be wordpress
    Shared Hosting is fine for most implementations of WordPress, and manyhosts wil provide you a 'one-click' installer (usually one of softaculous, fantastico or installatron) which makes it simple to install and upgrade (VERY IMPORTANT) as new versions come out.

Originally posted by flyinjam View Post
    From going through many sites, it seems that cpanel is easier to use if you know it already
    The amount of time you'll spend in a control panel is minimal - it's there to make it easy for you to add email mailboxes, install scripts etc. There is a small 'learning curve' but most control panels are very intuitive and come with instructions or how-to videos for common tasks.
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd AS#29527 Company#08183381 Phone#020 3475 2555
    Domain Name Registration - uk domains just £5.55/2 years | DNS Services | Web Hosting from £2.95 | Minecraft Servers from £2.50